Being without a cell phone

We are traveling, so we don’t have SIM cards that work here, although we have iPhones so they are still functioning electronic devices when wifi is available.

Still, it is weird to be without phones. When I was a kid, no one had cell phones. When we wanted to do something together, we would prearrange it.  Or if we had to separate while together, we would also make specific but uncomplicated arrangements about how to meet again, like, “I will run in and grab a cup of coffee and you run and get some food and we will meet back here on this corner in about 15 minutes.”

Because you have no alternative way to get in contact, you just wait. If it takes you 10 minutes, you either have a few minutes free to pee, or walk around, or just sit and think (because presumably, you also don’t have a note card sized device with 5000 ways to avert your attention from what is actually happening around you). If it takes you 20, you feel a little bad but know that, after you are done, you can still expect to meet the other person afterwards. They will assume you are coming back but got delayed.

Now, we got one SIM card that we can use here for my phone. It is great because we can call my parents when we are out and about and ask if we should bring home dinner. We can call friends and see if they want to meet for happy hour. Or we can use the data plan to find directions, or Yelp to find restaurants near us.

But we only have one, so we can´t call each other. Usually, we would call each other from different sides of the grocery store, to see what the other had found. So not having that luxury takes a little getting used to.

The other day Hubby went to pickup something from a shop. We didn’t know exactly where it was, so I let him off on the corner and drove around the block. He would run out when he was done. Except that it took a long time. I did 5 laps around the block. Once I went two blocks, then I went three, then two, then one, then two, and then I was fed up. So I parked and walked down the block looking for the shop. But I couldn’t see it, and I didn’t have the address written down because it was saved in the phone, which Hubby had. I had to talk myself out of getting annoyed, because, really, if I didn’t have the expectation that I would know every second of how long it would take to run that errand, I would have had a lot more patience.

Finally, Hubby emerged, and apologized, and I told him it was no problem.

And then we got on with our day, surviving just fine with only one phone.

2 thoughts on “Being without a cell phone

Leave a Reply

